Book Review: MacLean’s Passion by Sharon Cullen

Book Review: MacLean’s Passion by Sharon CullenMacLean's Passion by Sharon Cullen
Series: Highland Pride #2
Genres: Adult, Historical, Romance
Pages: 295
Published by Loveswept on June 28, 2016
Reading Challenges: 2016 Good Reads Challenge, 2016 NetGalley Reading Challenge
AmazonBarnes and NobleGoodreads
Perfect for fans of Maya Banks and Monica McCarty, Sharon Cullen’s Highland Pride series continues as Scotland’s most reckless smuggler meets his match in a beautiful spitfire who arouses a renewed sense of duty, camaraderie, and passion.
 
Colin MacLean has always felt like a black sheep—especially after his brothers are slain before his eyes in the Battle of Culloden. A smuggler by trade, Colin makes for an embarrassing chieftain. He can’t even save his friends from their British pursuers without getting himself captured. But before he is martyred by the hangman’s noose, Colin escapes with his cellmate, a brave lad he’s come to admire. It’s only in the depths of the Highlands that Colin discovers the lad is a lass—and a bonnie one at that.

Raised by her older brothers, Maggie Sinclair can drink a pint in no time flat and wield a dagger with the best of ’em. Still, men have always excluded her and women have always shunned her. Colin makes her feel different. His wild spirit and rugged good looks have Maggie reconsidering her less than ladylike ways. For the first time, she’s tempted to put on a gown, just to see how Colin would react. She can only imagine what might happen next: a kiss . . . a touch . . . and perhaps enough sultry heat to melt a cold Highland night.
This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, language, and/or violence.
three-starsthree-starsthree-stars

5 Rambles about MacLean’s Passion by Sharon Cullen:

  1. The Romance in MacLean’s Passion is very sweet; it’s about two (headstrong) people coming together and trying to figure out how to be married in the midst of dire circumstances. They both start out totally uninterested in being married, but due to some unforeseen consequences of actions, they are forced into marriage.
  2. Colin MacLean has a very sweet struggle that I think is common in upstanding men. He has no idea how he’s going to take care of his new wife, and that causes fear, shame, and frustration to enter into his marriage. He fights against being married mostly for this reason, because he has nothing to offer Maggie, not because he doesn’t care for her. There’s something very noble about his desire to be a protector and provider. Maggie in turn doesn’t want to be a burden, and can in reality, mostly take care of herself. But only when they really come together are they most effective in reaching their goals.
  3. The beginning starts off in media res; we find our two lovebirds in an English prison after the battle of Culloden (famous Jacobite rebellion – any Outlander fans out there?). No one knows Maggie is a woman, and Colin is on death’s door. This swift beginning sets the speedy tone for the rest of the book, which follows Colin and Maggie’s trek through Scotland, avoiding the English at every turn.
  4. I was hoping for a bit more conflict/action. I think I’m getting to the place where, unless it’s really special, I get bored with romance novels. I much prefer books that are plot-driven with an important romance, rather than romance-driven books. This one appears to be driven by a plot (Colin has to fight to get his family home back from the English), but the feel is much more romance novel. That being said, if you love romance novels, you’ll probably enjoy MacLean’s Passion.
  5. Sharon Cullen has a nice writing style, that moves along quickly. This is the second book of hers I’ve read (the other being The Reluctant Duchess), and while I enjoyed both, I couldn’t help but feel that both fell just a tad short of being good. They were both fine, and kept me reading to the end, but I didn’t feel particularly attached to any of her characters.

All in all, if you’re a fan of romance novels, check out Sharon Cullen. I’m sort of on the fence about her, but I’ve yet to be completely put-off by her writing. It’s interesting enough to be entertaining, but just misses the good-read mark.

Content: 18+ Graphic Sex, language.

3 Stars

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge