Ramblings Recommends *1*: What to read after The Fault in Our Stars obliterates your soul…

On our first edition of Ramblings Recommends:

Still using up boxes of tissues after reading John Green’s exhausting The Fault in Our Stars? Looking for your next teen-angst-romance? Well look no further! Here are some recommendations from my shelf!

 

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

Fangirl deals with shy girl Cath’s transition from high school to college. Her twin has abandoned her, and she thinks she’s falling in love with her roommate’s boyfriend. On top of that, Cath would rather spend her time writing Fan Fiction than doing any of her classwork.

Fangirl is a lighter read than The Fault in Our Stars, but it’s definitely a coming of age story with ups and downs, family drama, romance, angst, and good ole figuring out who you are as a human being. Highly recommended.

 

 

Pushing the Limits by Katie McGarry

If you’re looking for angsty teen romance, you won’t do better than Katie McGarry’s Pushing the Limits series. Each book tackles a different couple, some privileged, some poor, some dealing with horrible family issues, some dealing with PTSD. The romance is swoonworthy, and the characters always triumph over tough obstacles.

 

 

 

Pieces of Me by Carrigan Richards

Carrigan Richards writes the tale of a girl –Corinne- who discovers she just can’t deal anymore, and is checked into a psych ward by her well-meaning parents. Through sessions with her shrink, the reader learns about Corinne’s past and why she suffers suicidal thoughts. A dark tale, but one of ultimate triumph over depression. Definitely an uplifting read, with some lovely romance and beautiful self-discovery.

 

Have you read any of the books I recommend after The Fault in Our Stars? What would you suggest reading next?

 

Just finished a book, movie, or TV show and need something new? Let me know in the comments, and I’ll feature it on my next Ramblings Recommends!

One comment

  1. Tina says:

    This is a great list! I’m going to mark these down on my TBR list (: I’ve read The Fault in Our Stars and Fangirl, which I loved! So you’re recommendations are great !

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge