Top Ten Books to Read if you like the Teen-Angst-Romance Genre

This week, we got to pick a genre to suggest ten books from. I chose what I have fondly dubbed as the “teen-angst-romance” genre, though most people just call it Contemporary. There may be a slight genre overlap here, but I tried to choose books that predominantly dealt with romance/relationships in young adults/college age.  Here are ten books/series that I have enjoyed immensely from that genre:

1. Wait for You Series by Jennifer L. Armentrout

wait-for-you

Wait for You is rough, romantic, and so so good. It’s a hard story, but it’s lovely. *This is new adult, so expect graphic content* JLA is the QUEEN. Sort of the definition of angsty romance. Avery is dealing with some PTSD from an assault, and she’s trying to figure out how to have a relationship with Cam and still deal with those issues.

2. Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

anna-and-the-french-kiss

{See my review here}

Falling in love with a French guy while studying abroad? This is literally my life dream. I adored this sweet book. Definitely lighter than Wait for You, but still meaningful and sweet.

3. Pushing the Limits by Katie McGarry

pushing-the-limits

Katie McGarry writes emotional stories of teens from difficult situations (and they’re usually very different from each other to begin with) coming together through unexpected circumstances and falling in love. These are great stories for anyone who likes high school romances (with mature and maturing characters).

4. Perfect Chemistry by Simone Elkeles

perfect-chemistry

Very similar to the Katie McGarry books; guy from the wrong side of the tracks falls in love with good rich girl. Very sweet (and angsty) stories.

5. Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta

jellicoe-road

I recommend this book a lot; I’ve noticed that people either love it (like me) or they find it odd and unrealistic. It does definitely have a dreamlike quality to it, and it is strange in many ways. But I loved this story of a girl trying to figure out her past while attending a boarding school in Australia.

6. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

the-fault-in-our-stars

{See my review here}

Possibly the ultimate teen-angst-romance book. I actually don’t love John Green’s other books, but he did a spectacular job with The Fault in Our Stars. I don’t cry often while reading, but TFiOS definitely made me cry. The movie is excellent as well.

7. Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

fangirl

{See my review here}

I LOVE this book; probably because I felt like I could really relate to the main character, who instead of wanting a social life at her new college, she wants to stay in and write (essentially) Harry Potter fanfiction. There’s so much good stuff here, with good relationship developments, some family drama, and some hilarious fan fiction struggles.

8. The DUFF: The Designated Ugly Fat Friend by Kody Keplinger

the-duff

{See my review here}

I was more surprised than anyone that this book resonated with me. I read it in one day, and I loved it. It’s the story of a girl who discovers that she’s the “DUFF” of her friend group, and then allows herself to be used as such, until she wakes up to the fact that she’s so much more than that. Definitely soapy, silly, and crass, but deals with some great stuff, and lots of things that teens deal with every day in a less satirical and more realistic way than Mean Girls.

9. Losing It by Cora Carmack

losing-it

So, yeah, this is pretty much what it looks like, but I was surprised by this book. It follows the story of a college girl who is still a virgin and decides it’s high time she’s had sex. She accidentally ends up in the bed of who she later learns is one of her college professors, but she can’t go through with it. What follows is an adorable love story. *New adult, so be prepared for graphic content*. Did I mention that said college professor is British?

10. Ten Tiny Breaths by K. A. Tucker

ten-tiny-breaths

{See my review here}

This was one of the very first New Adult books I read back when the genre was just a wee babe; Ten Tiny Breaths deals with PTSD and healing, and there’s a magnificent twist 3/4 through. Such a good read.

What are some of your favorite Contemporary Reads?

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted weekly by The Broke and the Bookish.

top-ten-tuesday-autumn

2 comments

  1. Beth @ Betwixt the Pages says:

    Oooooh, great list! I’m definitely going to be adding some of these to my “want to read” list–I’m ALWAYS looking for a good love-bug read! Thanks so much for compiling this!

    Happy book-ing to you in the future! My TTT is right here, if you want to check it out–but no worries if you don’t! <3

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge